Skip to content

Review: Glengarry Glen Ross

April 26, 2011

Coffee

I’m not really sure how I found this movie, I think it was because I was reading something about sales and this movie along with Boiler Room were mentioned as being good movies about sales. I had already seen Boiler Room (great movie), so I figured I’d give this a whirl. It also had Kevin Spacey and Al Pacino in it, two actors which I like – Spacey for his role in Se7en and Pacino for his classic badass role in Scarface.

The movie is about a group of real estate salesman who face hard times and pressure from the company they work for, Rio Rancho Properties, to increase their sales. The movie starts with a scene where the salesmen are speaking with each other in a restroom area in a restaurant by the pay phones about their tough luck lately. One salesman, Sheldon, is making a few phone calls to potential buyers in an effort to make a sale. The reason I’m describing this scene is because it sets the tone for what the rest of the movie is going to be about. The next scene is Alec Baldwin coming in from “downtown” to rally up the sales troops with his scare tactic while offering a reward to the top salesman for the month. I have to say, Alec’s performance in the movie, albeit short, was very good — as expected. The movie goes on with a ton, and I mean a TON of dialogue amongst the salesmen and their manager (Spacey.)

I don’t want to give the entire movie away, so I’m going to get into my thoughts about the movie. The acting was very good, especially Pacino, but about an hour into the movie I was wondering “Ok, when is this going to get going? When’s the predicament going to come up that sets the rest of the movie up? What’s the one thing that drives the movie?” To put it into better words – WHEN IS THE MOVIE GOING TO START?! I don’t know if any of you are like me, but there’s a definitive point usually within the first twenty minutes of a movie where I say, “Ok, that’s what the rest of the movie is going to be based on.” For me, I wasn’t able to find that point. It was very slow moving with its plot, but fast-paced with its dialogue. The movie seemed more like the documentary of a salesman rather than a full-length feature film. Again, the acting was great, but I’m not sure the plot, or lack thereof, was movie worthy. It’s a good look inside the profession of sales, though. I just feel like it should have been called A Day in the Life of a Salesman instead, because it seemed like the movie could have been shot on any other day of these salesmen’s lives and it would have fostered the same reaction from viewers.

So, would I recommend it? Eh, I dunno. I guess it was a decent overall movie coupled with absolutely superb acting. Check it out if you want to see how the life of a salesman goes, I guess. Link to the movie here.

From → Movies

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

