Skip to content

Movie Review: 127 Hours

March 2, 2011

Let me start off by saying this: I’m one of those people who look at a movie’s credentials and make a judgment of how good its going to be before I even see it. Usually, I’m dead on. This time I was so off it’s not even funny. Wanna know what this movie was about? A guy who got stuck in a rock crevice in the middle of nowhere and eventually got out. Boom. Done. Literally could have been shot in 10 minutes and resulted in the same reaction from viewers. Picture this: guy falls down in a crevice in The Middle of Nowhere, Utah, and the next hour and 15 minutes of the movie is shot with 1 person who doesn’t move more than 2 inches. If you can picture that, then you’ve already seen the movie.

Let me back up for a second just so you people can figure out where I’m coming from. I can’t stand movies that are so transparent in their plots and previews that I know what the entire movie is before I even watch it. I’m no professional movie critic, but let’s be serious. Guy gets stuck, has to get out. If you can’t figure out what the movie is going to be without seeing it then I don’t know what to tell you. That being said, I arrive at my main argument: What’s the point?

Like is this a movie or a documentary? I guess the whole point was to get this guy’s story out there right? That’s all it could be? That’s cool I guess but the movie itself did absolutely nothing for me. There it is though just raking in awards and nominations left and right. Whatever, I guess I can agree with it being a good acting job by James Franco but I’m pretty sure I could count on one hand how many words he actually spoke throughout the movie.

Before you get all fired up about me not liking the story, boo-hoo Ryan you’re so mean this guy went through a lot, spare me. The story was one thing but I completely and 100% stand by my thoughts that as a movie, this was absolutely pointless. Don’t get me wrong, the guy’s story is commendable, but I think the movie was completely unnecessary and there was just no point to it.

PS – I think you can rate this post, so give the movie a rating. I’m givin it a hard 2 if that’s even an option but I haven’t even seen the rating system yet so I’m not even sure if I’ll be able to do that.

Image credit: 127hoursmovie.com

From → Movies

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

